With the election coming close, many already decided citizens are just waiting for their opportunity to vote. Fortunately, 40 states (plus District of Columbia) allow some form of voting before the election on November 3rd.

Each state has its own rules, deadlines and terminology for voting before the general election. Some call it "early voting" or "in-person absentee". Others are mailing out ballots in advance which you can mail back or drop off in secure boxes or at county offices. Some states conclude early voting several days before the election.

This site attempts to make finding the details for your state's early voting rules convenient and accurate. Get your vote in early and relax.

Early voting has started in Arkansas!

You have until November 2, 2020 to vote before election day.

Can you early vote in person?

  • Arkansas voters can start voting early on October 19, 15 days before the election on November 3. The early voting period concludes on November 2. During the early voting period, a ballot can be cast at an early voting station - check the link below to find the one closest to you.

  • In most counties, early voting is conducted at the county clerk’s office.

  • In counties with off-site early voting (a location other than the county clerk’s office), local newspapers will publish the designated sites.

  • Early voting is available between the hours of 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday, and 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, ending at 5 p.m. on the Monday before the election. Off-site early voting hours may vary by county; watch your local newspaper or contact your county clerk for information.

  • If your name or address has changed, you may update your information at the early voting site.

Can you early vote by mail?

  • You must provide an excuse to vote by mail in Arkansas, but 100% of voters can use COVID-19 as an excuse.
  • If you are voting by mail due to COVID, check the box that says "unavoidably absentee on Election Day" on the request form.

What about on election day?

Polling place lookup

Find your polling place on this website.

ID requirements

Arkansas voters must provide their Arkansas driver's license number, state ID number, or the last four digits of their social security number with their voter registration application. Voters must also physically show valid ID, such as their driver's license or birth certificate.

How do I make sure I'm registered to vote?

To register in Arkansas you must:

  • be a citizen of the United States
  • be an Arkansas resident
  • be at least 18 years old by Election Day
  • If you have been convicted of a felony, you must have completed your entire sentence (including probation and parole) and paid any fines, fees, or restitution to register to vote. If you are re-registering to vote for the first time after your felony, you must provide proof of completion of your sentence along with a voter registration form.
  • not claim the right to vote in any other jurisdiction
  • not be deemed mentally incompetent by a court

Can I register online?

Unfortunately online registration is not possible in Arkansas.